How to use Zoom Online Classrooms
Zoom is the preferred online classroom space for Navitas. This document will provide a guide of how to use the tools available to participants during a zoom session.
Jump to section:
The Change video view will gives you the option to view the videos in the room as Gallery view or as above or speaker view, where the speaker will be featured with a yellow box surrounding their video:
this icon allows you to toggle between full screen and partial screen view
You can mute and unmute yourself by clicking on the microphone icon. When there is a red line through the Microphone icon your audio is on mute.
You can stop your video by clicking on the video icon. When there is a red line through the Video icon your video is turned off.
This feature shouldn’t be necessary as the plugin should automatically populate participants into the room, however it is possible to manually add participants through the following steps:
Invite by email:
Copy URL/ meeting room number directly via Zoom.us> Join meeting and then entering the meeting Id directly into the pop up box.
This is the place where you can see all participants in the room, beside their name you can see if that participant is the Host or Co-Host, you can also see if they have their microphone/video on or off. In this window you are also able to rename yourself by hovering over your name and selecting the Rename button.
This window also give you multiple option to mute/unmute yourself:
Located at the bottom of the Participant’s box are a range of communication icons. The ‘More’ button reveals additional icons. When selected, these icons will appear next to your name, for instance below the tea break icon is selected. To remove the icon you will need to deselect the icon or your educator can clear this function.
The Share Screen feature allows you to share any file or video on your desktop including sound with all participants in the room. You may be required to do this to for a presentation component of your course or, with your educator’s permission, if you would like to share something with your group.
Make sure you already have the file open on your desktop
Close all windows, tabs and files that you aren’t going to use for the session.
If sharing a video sound quality is better if the video is shared directly from the application which it is played through, e.g Youtube or Vimeo.
When share screening it is possible to disable the annotation function for those not sharing.
To start "Screen Sharing" select "Share Screen" button located in your tool bar.
Make a selection from the pop up screen. If you are planning on sharing a video or media file check the ‘Share computer sound’ and ‘Optimize for full screen video clip’, (these options can only be selected if the step from tips above is followed through) then select Share screen.
Once this has been selected your share screen will appear as below. In this example 3 Hour Relaxing Guitar Music via Chrome was selected and has been set to full screen: